Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Muñequitos Monasticos: Ordo Fratrum S. Augustini

The Augustinians, one of the four great Mendicant Orders, the others being the Carmelites, Dominicans and the Franciscans. They were founded in the 13th century as several communities of Italian hermits united under the rule of the St. Augustine. The order is now comprised of Friars and Nuns that are spread world wide.

There also exists two reform institutes that formed in the 16th and 17th centuries, the Discalced Augustinians and the Augustinian Recollects.

The fellow illustrated here is a friar of the Order of St. Augustine.

Updated version

Original version

No comments:

Post a Comment